Academic Calendar 2013-2014

Trinity College of Arts & Sciences; The Pratt School of Engineering; The Nicholas School of the Environment; The Graduate School; The Sanford School of Public Policy; The School of Nursing

Consult the calendars of the other schools for additional information.

SUMMER 2013
February 18 Monday. Registration begins for all summer sessions
May 15 Wednesday. Term I classes begin. The Monday class meeting schedule is in effect on this day. (Therefore, all summer classes meet this day.) Regular class meeting schedule begins on Thursday, May 16; Drop/Add continues
May 16 Thursday. Regular class meeting schedule begins
May 17 Friday. Drop/Add for Term I ends
May 27 Monday. Memorial Day holiday. No classes are held
June 12 Wednesday. Last day to withdraw with W from Term I classes
June 24 Monday. Term I classes end
June 25 Tuesday. Reading period
June 26 Wednesday. Term I final examinations begin
June 27 Thursday. Term I final examinations end
July 1 Monday. Term II classes begin
July 3 Wednesday. Drop/Add for Term II ends
July 4 Thursday. Independence Day holiday. No classes are held.
July 29 Monday. Last day to withdraw with W from Term II classes
August 8 Thursday. Term II classes end
August 9 Friday. Reading period (Until 7 p.m.)
August 9 Friday. Term II final examinations begin, 7 p.m.
August 11 Sunday. Term II final examinations end
 
FALL 2013
August 20 Tuesday. New graduate student orientation begins
August 20 Tuesday. New undergraduate student orientation begins
August 21 Wednesday. 11 a.m. Convocation for new undergraduate students; 4 p.m. Convocation for graduate and professional school students
August 26 Monday. 8:30 a.m. Fall semester classes begin; Drop/Add continues
September 2 Monday. Labor Day. Classes in session
September 6 Friday. Drop/Add ends
October 4 Friday. 5:30 p.m. Founders' Day Convocation
October 6 Sunday. Founders' Day
October 11 Friday. Last day for reporting midsemester grades
October 11 Friday. 7 p.m. Fall break begins
October 16 Wednesday. 8:30 a.m. Classes resume
November 6 Wednesday. Registration begins for Spring 2014
November 8 Friday. Last day to withdraw with W from Fall 2013 classes (Undergraduates Only)
November 20 Wednesday. Registration ends for Spring 2014
November 21 Thursday. Drop/Add begins for Spring 2014
November 26 Tuesday. 10:30 p.m. Thanksgiving recess begins
November 26 Tuesday. Graduate classes end
December 2 Monday. 8:30 a.m. Classes resume
December 2 - 9 Monday-Monday. Graduate reading period
December 6 Friday. Undergraduate classes end
December 7 - 9 Saturday-Monday. Undergraduate reading period
December 10 Tuesday. Final examinations begin (9 a.m.)
December 15 Sunday. 10 p.m. Final examinations end
 
SPRING 2014
January 5 - 7 Sunday-Tuesday. Undergraduate Winter Forum
January 8 Wednesday. 8:30 a.m. Spring semester begins: The Monday class meeting schedule is in effect on this day; Regular class meeting schedule begins on Thursday, January 9; Classes meeting in a Wednesday/Friday meeting pattern begin January 10; Drop/Add continues
January 9 Thursday. Regular class meeting schedule begins
January 20 Monday. Martin Luther King, Jr. Day holiday: classes are rescheduled on Wednesday, January 8
January 22 Wednesday. Drop/Add ends
February 17 Monday. Registration begins for Summer 2014
February 21 Friday. Last day for reporting midsemester grades
March 7 Friday. 7 p.m. Spring recess begins
March 17 Monday. 8:30 a.m. Classes resume
March 26 Wednesday. Last day to withdraw with W from Spring 2014 classes (Undergraduates Only)
April 2 Wednesday. Registration begins for Fall 2014; Summer 2014 registration continues
April 11 Friday. Registration ends for Fall 2014; Summer 2014 registration continues
April 12 Saturday. Drop/Add begins for Fall 2014
April 16 Wednesday. Graduate classes end
April 17 - 27 Thursday-Sunday. Graduate reading period
April 23 Wednesday. Undergraduate classes end
April 24 - 27 Thursday-Sunday. Undergraduate reading period
April 28 Monday. Final examinations begin
April 30 Wednesday. Undergraduate reading period (9 a.m. - 2 p.m.)
May 3 Saturday. 10 p.m. Final examinations end
May 9 Friday. Commencement begins
May 11 Sunday. Graduation exercises; conferring of degrees

Approved April 18, 2012
University Schedule Committee
Duke University, Durham, North Carolina 27708

Questions or comments? Send email to: registrar@duke.edu