Academic Calendar 2006-2007

Trinity College of Arts & Sciences; The Pratt School of Engineering; The Nicholas School of the Environment and Earth Sciences; The Graduate School; The Graduate Nursing Program

Consult the calendars of the other schools for additional information.

Special Note: New student orientation dates for undergraduate students have been revised (1/10/06). Changes are noted in red below.

SUMMER 2006
February 27 Monday. Registration begins for all Summer sessions
May 18 Thursday. Term I classes begin
May 22 Monday. Drop/Add for Term I ends
May 29 Monday. Memorial Day. Classes in session
June 14 Wednesday. Last day to withdraw WP or WF from Term I classes
June 26 Monday. Term I classes end
June 27 Tuesday. Reading period
June 28 Wednesday. Term I final examinations begin
June 29 Thursday. Term I final examinations end
July 3 Monday. Term II classes begin
July 4 Tuesday. Independence Day. Classes in session
July 5 Wednesday. Drop/Add for Term II ends
July 28 Friday. Last day to withdraw WP or WF from Term II classes
August 9 Wednesday. Term II classes end
August 10 Thursday. Reading Day
August 11 Friday. Term II final examinations begin
August 12 Saturday. Term II final examinations end
 
FALL 2006
August 22 Tuesday. New graduate student orientation
August 22 Tuesday. New undergraduate student orientation begins
August 23 Wednesday 11:00 a.m. Convocation for new undergraduate students; 4:00 p.m. Convocation for graduate and professional school students
August 28 Monday. 8:30 a.m. Fall Semester classes begin; Drop/Add continues
September 4 Monday. Labor Day. Classes in session
September 8 Friday. 5:00 p.m. Drop/Add ends
October 1 Sunday. Founders' Day
October 6 Friday. 7:00 p.m. Fall break begins
October 11 Wednesday. 8:30 a.m. Classes resume
October 13 Friday. Last day for reporting midsemester grades
November 1 Wednesday. Registration begins for Spring Semester, 2007
November 15 Wednesday. Registration ends for Spring Semester, 2007
November 16 Thursday. Drop/Add begins
November 21 Tuesday. 10:30 p.m. Thanksgiving recess begins
November 27 Monday. 8:30 a.m. Classes resume
December 1 Friday. Graduate classes end
December 2-10 Saturday-Sunday. Graduate reading period; length of the 200-level course reading period is determined by the professor
December 8 Friday. Undergraduate classes end
December 9-10 Saturday-Sunday. Undergraduate reading period
December 11 Monday. Undergraduate reading period (9:00 a.m. - 7:00 p.m.)
December 11 Monday. Final examinations begin (7:00 p.m.)
December 14 Thursday. Undergraduate reading period (9:00 a.m. - 2:00 p.m.)
December 17 Sunday. 10:00 p.m. Final examinations end
 
SPRING 2007
January 10 Wednesday. 8:30 a.m. Spring Semester begins: ALL classes normally meeting on Mondays meet on this Wednesday only; Wednesday ONLY classes begin Wednesday, January 17; Drop/Add continues
January 15 Monday. Martin Luther King, Jr. Day holiday: classes are rescheduled on Wednesday, January 10
January 24 Wednesday. 5:00 p.m. Drop/Add ends
February 23 Friday. Last day for reporting midsemester grades
February 26 Monday. Registration begins for Summer 2007
March 9 Friday. 7:00 p.m. Spring recess begins
March 19 Monday. 8:30 a.m. Classes resume
April 4 Wednesday. Registration begins for Fall Semester 2007; Summer 2007 registration continues
April 13 Friday. Registration ends for Fall Semester 2007; Summer 2007 registration continues
April 14 Saturday. Drop/Add begins
April 18 Wednesday. Graduate classes end
April 19-29 Thursday-Sunday. Graduate reading period; length of the 200-level course reading period is determined by the professor
April 25 Wednesday. Undergraduate classes end
April 26-29 Thursday-Sunday. Undergraduate reading period
April 30 Monday. Final examinations begin
May 2 Wednesday. Undergraduate reading period (9:00 a.m. - 2:00 p.m.)
May 5 Saturday. 10:00 p.m. Final examinations end
May 11 Friday. Commencement begins
May 13 Sunday. Graduation exercises; conferring of degrees

January 10, 2006 (revised)
University Schedule Committee
Duke University, Durham, North Carolina  27708

Questions or comments? Send mail to: registrar@duke.edu