Academic Calendar 2007-2008

Trinity College of Arts & Sciences; The Pratt School of Engineering; The Nicholas School of the Environment and Earth Sciences; The Graduate School; The Graduate Nursing Program

Consult the calendars of the other schools for additional information.

Special Note: Reading period and final exam begin dates for Fall 2007 have been revised (4/9/07). Changes are noted in red.

SUMMER 2007
February 26 Monday. Registration begins for all Summer sessions
May 17 Thursday. Term I classes begin
May 21 Monday. Drop/Add for Term I ends
May 28 Monday. Memorial Day. Classes in session
June 13 Wednesday. Last day to withdraw WP or WF from Term I classes
June 25 Monday. Term I classes end
June 26 Tuesday. Reading period
June 27 Wednesday. Term I final examinations begin
June 28 Thursday. Term I final examinations end
July 2 Monday. Term II classes begin
July 4 Wednesday. Independence Day. Classes in session
July 4 Wednesday. Drop/Add for Term II ends
July 27 Friday. Last day to withdraw WP or WF from Term II classes
August 8 Wednesday. Term II classes end
August 9 Thursday. Reading period
August 10 Friday. Term II final examinations begin
August 11 Saturday. Term II final examinations end
 
FALL 2007
August 21 Tuesday. New graduate student orientation
August 21 Tuesday. New undergraduate student orientation begins
August 22 Wednesday. 11:00 a.m. Convocation for new undergraduate students; 4:00 p.m. Convocation for graduate and professional school students
August 27 Monday. 8:30 a.m. Fall Semester classes begin; Drop/Add continues
September 3 Monday. Labor Day. Classes in session
September 7 Friday. 5:00 pm, Drop/Add ends
September 30 Sunday. Founders' Day
October 5 Friday. 7:00 p.m. Fall break begins
October 10 Wednesday. 8:30 a.m. Classes resume
October 12 Friday. Last day for reporting midsemester grades
October 31 Wednesday. Registration begins for Spring Semester, 2008
November 14 Wednesday. Registration ends for Spring Semester, 2008
November 15 Thursday. Drop/Add begins
November 20 Tuesday. 10:30 p.m. Thanksgiving recess begins
November 26 Monday. 8:30 a.m. Classes resume
November 30 Friday. Graduate classes end
December 1 - 9 Saturday-Sunday. Graduate reading period; length of the 200-level course reading period is determined by the professor
December 7 Friday. Undergraduate classes end
December 8-10 Saturday-Monday. Undergraduate reading period
December 11 Tuesday. Final examinations begin
December 16 Sunday. 10:00 p.m. Final examinations end
 
SPRING 2008
January 9 Wednesday. 8:30 a.m. Spring Semester begins: The Monday class meeting schedule is in effect on this day; Regular class meeting schedule begins on Thursday, January 10; Classes meeting in a Wednesday/Friday meeting pattern begin Friday, January 11; Drop/Add continues
January 10 Thursday. Regular class meeting schedule begins
January 21 Monday. Martin Luther King, Jr. Day holiday: classes are rescheduled on Wednesday, January 9
January 23 Wednesday. 5:00 p.m. Drop/Add ends
February 22 Friday. Last day for reporting midsemester grades
February 25 Monday. Registration begins for Summer 2008
March 7 Friday. 7:00 p.m. Spring recess begins
March 17 Monday. 8:30 a.m. Classes resume
April 2 Wednesday. Registration begins for Fall Semester 2008; Summer 2008 registration continues
April 11 Friday. Registration ends for Fall Semester 2008; Summer 2008 registration continues
April 12 Saturday. Drop/Add begins
April 16 Wednesday. Graduate classes end
April 17 - 27 Thursday-Sunday. Graduate reading period; length of the 200-level course reading period is determined by the professor
April 23 Wednesday. Undergraduate classes end
April 24 - 27 Thursday-Sunday. Undergraduate reading period
April 28 Monday. Final examinations begin
April 30 Wednesday. Undergraduate reading period (9:00 AM - 2:00 PM)
May 3 Saturday. 10:00 p.m. Final examinations end
May 9 Friday. Commencement begins
May 11 Sunday. Graduation exercises; conferring of degrees

April 9, 2007 (Revised)
University Schedule Committee
Duke University, Durham, North Carolina  27708

Questions or comments? Send mail to: registrar@duke.edu