Academic Calendar 2009-2010

Trinity College of Arts & Sciences; The Pratt School of Engineering; The Nicholas School of the Environment; The Graduate School; The School of Nursing; The Sanford School of Public Policy

Consult the calendars of the other schools for additional information.

SUMMER 2009
February 23 Monday. Registration begins for all Summer sessions
May 13 Wednesday. Term I classes begin. The Monday class schedule is in effect on this day. Regular class meeting schedule begins on Thursday, May 14; Drop/Add continues
May 14 Thursday. Regular class meeting schedule begins
May 15 Friday. Drop/Add for Term I ends
May 25 Monday. Memorial Day holiday. No classes are held
June 10 Wednesday. Last day to withdraw W from Term I classes
June 22 Monday. Term I classes end
June 23 Tuesday. Reading period
June 24 Wednesday. Term I final examinations begin
June 25 Thursday. Term I final examinations end
June 29 Monday. Term II classes begin
July 1 Wednesday. Drop/Add for Term II ends
July 3 Friday. Independence Day holiday observed. No classes are held.
July 27 Monday. Last day to withdraw W from Term II classes
August 6 Thursday. Term II classes end
August 7 Friday. Reading period (Until 7:00 p.m.)
August 7 Friday. Term II final examinations begin, 7:00 p.m.
August 9 Sunday. Term II final examinations end
 
FALL 2009
August 18 Tuesday. New graduate student orientation
August 18 Tuesday. New undergraduate student orientation begins
August 19 Wednesday. 11:00 a.m. Convocation for new undergraduate students; 4:00 p.m. Convocation for graduate and professional school students
August 24 Monday. 8:30 a.m. Fall Semester classes begin; Drop/Add continues
September 4 Friday. Drop/Add ends
September 7 Monday. Labor Day. Classes in session
October 2 Friday. 7:00 p.m. Fall break begins
October 4 Sunday. Founders' Day
October 7 Wednesday. 8:30 a.m. Classes resume
October 9 Friday. Last day for reporting midsemester grades
November 4 Wednesday. Registration begins for Spring Semester, 2010
November 18 Wednesday. Registration ends for Spring Semester, 2010
November 19 Thursday. Drop/Add begins
November 24 Tuesday. 10:30 p.m. Thanksgiving recess begins
November 24 Tuesday. Graduate classes end
November 30 Monday. 8:30 a.m. Classes resume
Nov 24 - Dec 7 Saturday-Monday. Graduate reading period; length of the 200-level course reading period is determined by the professor
December 4 Friday. Undergraduate classes end
December 5-7 Saturday-Monday. Undergraduate reading period
December 8 Tuesday. Final examinations begin (9:00 a.m.)
December 13 Sunday. 10:00 p.m. Final examinations end
 
SPRING 2010
January 10-12 Sunday - Tuesday. Undergraduate Winter Forum
January 13 Wednesday. 8:30 a.m. Spring Semester begins: The Monday class meeting schedule is in effect on this day; Regular class meeting schedule begins on Thursday, January 14; Classes meeting in a Wednesday/Friday meeting pattern begin January 15; Drop/Add continues
January 14 Thursday. Regular class meeting schedule begins
January 18 Monday. Martin Luther King, Jr. Day holiday: classes are rescheduled on Wednesday, January 13
January 27 Wednesday. Drop/Add ends
February 22 Monday. Registration begins for Summer 2010
February 26 Friday. Last day for reporting midsemester grades
March 5 Friday. 7:00 p.m. Spring recess begins
March 15 Monday. 8:30 a.m. Classes resume
April 7 Wednesday. Registration begins for Fall Semester 2010; Summer 2010 registration continues
April 16 Friday. Registration ends for Fall Semester 2010; Summer 2010 registration continues
April 17 Saturday. Drop/Add begins
April 21 Wednesday. Graduate classes end
April 22 - May 2 Thursday-Sunday. Graduate reading period; length of the 200-level course reading period is determined by the professor
April 28 Wednesday. Undergraduate classes end
April 29 - May 2 Thursday-Sunday. Undergraduate reading period
May 3 Monday. Final examinations begin
May 5 Wednesday. Undergraduate reading period (9:00 a.m. - 2:00 p.m.)
May 8 Saturday. 10:00 p.m. Final examinations end
May 14 Friday. Commencement begins
May 16 Sunday. Graduation exercises; conferring of degrees

Approved May 15, 2008
University Schedule Committee
Duke University, Durham, North Carolina  27708

Questions or comments? Send email to: registrar@duke.edu