Academic Calendar 2011-2012


Trinity College of Arts & Sciences; The Pratt School of Engineering; The Nicholas School of the Environment; The Graduate School; The School of Nursing;The Sanford School of Public Policy

 

Consult calendars of the various schools for additional information.


SUMMER 2011
February 21 Monday. Registration begins for all Summer sessions
May 18 Wednesday. Term I classes begin. The Monday class meeting schedule is in effect on this day. (Therefore, all summer classes meet this day.) Regular class meeting schedule begins on Thursday, May 19; Drop/Add continues
May 19 Thursday. Regular class meeting schedule begins
May 20 Friday. Drop/Add for Term I ends
May 30 Monday. Memorial Day holiday. No classes are held
June 15 Wednesday. Last day to withdraw with W from Term I classes
June 27 Monday. Term I classes end
June 28 Tuesday. Reading period
June 29 Wednesday. Term I final examinations begin
June 30 Thursday. Term I final examinations end
July 4 Monday. Independence Day holiday. No classes are held.
July 5 Tuesday. Term II classes begin
July 7 Thursday. Drop/Add for Term II ends
August 1 Monday. Last day to withdraw with W from Term II classes
August 11 Thursday. Term II classes end
August 12 Friday. Reading period (Until 7:00 p.m.)
August 12 Friday. Term II final examinations begin, 7:00 p.m.
August 14 Sunday. Term II final examinations end
 
FALL 2011
August 23 Tuesday. New graduate student orientation
August 23 Tuesday. New undergraduate student orientation begins
August 24 Wednesday. 11:00 a.m. Convocation for new undergraduate students; 4:00 p.m. Convocation for graduate and professional school students
August 29 Monday. 8:30 a.m. Fall Semester classes begin; Drop/Add continues
September 5 Monday. Labor Day. Classes in session
September 9 Friday. Drop/Add ends
September 22 Thursday. 4:30 p.m. Founders' Day Convocation
September 25 Sunday. Founders' Day
October 7 Friday. Last day for reporting midsemester grades
October 7 Friday. 7:00 p.m. Fall break begins
October 12 Wednesday. 8:30 a.m. Classes resume
November 2 Wednesday. Registration begins for Spring Semester, 2012
November 11 Friday. Last day to withdraw with W from Fall 2011 classes
November 16 Wednesday. Registration ends for Spring Semester, 2012
November 17 Thursday. Drop/Add begins for Spring 2012
November 22 Tuesday. 10:30 p.m. Thanksgiving recess begins
November 28 Monday. 8:30 a.m. Classes resume
December 2 Friday. Graduate classes end
December 3 - 12 Saturday-Monday. Graduate reading period
December 9 Friday. Undergraduate classes end
December 10 - 12 Saturday-Monday. Undergraduate reading period
December 13 Tuesday. Final examinations begin (9:00 a.m.)
December 18 Sunday. 10:00 p.m. Final examinations end
 
SPRING 2012
January 8 - 10 Sunday - Tuesday. Undergraduate Winter Forum
January 11 Wednesday. 8:30 a.m. Spring Semester begins: The Monday class meeting schedule is in effect on this day; Regular class meeting schedule begins on Thursday, January 12; Classes meeting in a Wednesday/Friday meeting pattern begin January 13; Drop/Add continues
January 12 Thursday. Regular class meeting schedule begins
January 16 Monday. Martin Luther King, Jr. Day holiday: classes are rescheduled on Wednesday, January 11
January 25 Wednesday. Drop/Add ends
February 20 Monday. Registration begins for Summer 2012
February 24 Friday. Last day for reporting midsemester grades
March 2 Friday. 7:00 p.m. Spring recess begins
March 12 Monday. 8:30 a.m. Classes resume
March 28 Wednesday. Last day to withdraw with W from Spring 2012 classes
April 4 Wednesday. Registration begins for Fall Semester 2012; Summer 2012 registration continues
April 13 Friday. Registration ends for Fall Semester 2012; Summer 2012 registration continues
April 14 Saturday. Drop/Add begins for Fall 2012
April 18 Wednesday. Graduate classes end
April 19 - 29 Thursday-Sunday. Graduate reading period
April 25 Wednesday. Undergraduate classes end
April 26 - 29 Thursday-Sunday. Undergraduate reading period
April 30 Monday. Final examinations begin
May 2 Wednesday. Undergraduate reading period (9:00 AM - 2:00 PM)
May 5 Saturday. 10:00 p.m. Final examinations end
May 11 Friday. Commencement begins
May 13 Sunday. Graduation exercises; conferring of degrees

Approved April 23, 2010
University Schedule Committee
Duke University, Durham, North Carolina  27708

Questions or comments? Send email to: registrar@duke.edu