Academic Calendar 2014-2015

Trinity College of Arts & Sciences; The Pratt School of Engineering; The Nicholas School of the Environment; The Graduate School; The Sanford School of Public Policy; The School of Nursing

Consult the calendars of the various schools for additional information.

SUMMER 2014
February 17 Monday. Registration begins for all Summer sessions
May 14 Wednesday. Term I classes begin. The Monday class meeting schedule is in effect on this day. (Therefore, all summer classes meet this day.) Regular class meeting schedule begins on Thursday, May 15; Drop/Add continues
May 15 Thursday. Regular class meeting schedule begins
May 16 Friday. Drop/Add for Term I ends
May 26 Monday. Memorial Day holiday. No classes are held
June 11 Wednesday. Last day to withdraw with W from Term I classes
June 23 Monday. Term I classes end
June 24 Tuesday. Reading period
June 25 Wednesday. Term I final examinations begin
June 26 Thursday. Term I final examinations end
June 30 Monday. Term II classes begin
July 2 Wednesday. Drop/Add for Term II ends
July 4 Friday. Independence Day holiday. No classes are held.
July 28 Monday. Last day to withdraw with W from Term II classes
August 7 Thursday. Term II classes end
August 8 Friday. Reading period (Until 7 p.m.)
August 8 Friday. Term II final examinations begin, 7 p.m.
August 10 Sunday. Term II final examinations end
 
FALL 2014
August 19 Tuesday. New graduate student orientation begins
August 19 Tuesday. New undergraduate student orientation begins
August 20 Wednesday. 11 a.m. Convocation for new undergraduate students; 4 p.m. Convocation for graduate and professional school students
August 25 Monday. 8:30 a.m. Fall semester classes begin; Drop/Add continues
September 1 Monday. Labor Day. Classes in session
September 5 Friday. Drop/Add ends
September 19
Friday. 5:30 p.m. Founders' Day Convocation
September 21
Sunday. Founders' Day
October 10 Friday. Last day for reporting midsemester grades
October 10 Friday. 7 p.m. Fall break begins
October 15 Wednesday. 8:30 a.m. Classes resume
November 5 Wednesday. Registration begins for Spring 2015
November 7 Friday. Last day to withdraw with W from Fall 2014 classes (Undergraduates Only)
November 19 Wednesday. Registration ends for Spring 2015
November 20 Thursday. Drop/Add begins for Spring 2015
November 25 Tuesday. 10:30 p.m. Thanksgiving recess begins
November 25 Tuesday. Graduate classes end
December 1 Monday. 8:30 a.m. Classes resume
December 1 - 8 Monday-Monday. Graduate reading period
December 5 Friday. Undergraduate classes end
December 6 - 8 Saturday-Monday. Undergraduate reading period
December 9 Tuesday. Final examinations begin (9 a.m.)
December 14 Sunday. 10 p.m. Final examinations end
 
SPRING 2015
January 4 - 6 Sunday-Tuesday. Undergraduate Winter Forum
January 7 Wednesday. 8:30 a.m. Spring semester begins: The Monday class meeting schedule is in effect on this day; Regular class meeting schedule begins on Thursday, January 8; Classes meeting in a Wednesday/Friday meeting pattern begin January 9; Drop/Add continues
January 8 Thursday. Regular class meeting schedule begins
January 19 Monday. Martin Luther King, Jr. Day holiday: classes are rescheduled on Wednesday, January 7
January 21 Wednesday. Drop/Add ends
February 16 Monday. Registration begins for Summer 2015
February 20 Friday. Last day for reporting midsemester grades
March 6 Friday. 7 p.m. Spring recess begins
March 16 Monday. 8 a.m. Classes resume
March 25 Wednesday. Last day to withdraw with W from Spring 2015 classes (Undergraduates Only)
April 1 Wednesday. Registration begins for Fall 2015; Summer 2015 registration continues
April 10 Friday. Registration ends for Fall 2015; Summer 2015 registration continues
April 11 Saturday. Drop/Add begins for Fall 2015
April 15 Wednesday. Graduate classes end
April 16 - 26 Thursday-Sunday. Graduate reading period
April 22 Wednesday. Undergraduate classes end
April 23 - 26 Thursday-Sunday. Undergraduate reading period
April 27 Monday. Final examinations begin
April 29 Wednesday. Undergraduate reading period (9 a.m. - 2 p.m.)
May 2 Saturday. 10 p.m. Final examinations end
May 8 Friday. Commencement begins
May 10 Sunday. Graduation exercises; conferring of degrees

Approved February 2, 2013
University Schedule Committee
Duke University, Durham, North Carolina 27708

Questions or comments? Send email to: registrar@duke.edu