Academic Calendar 2017-2018

Trinity College of Arts & Sciences; The Pratt School of Engineering; The Nicholas School of the Environment; The Graduate School; The Sanford School of Public Policy; The School of Nursing

Consult the calendars of the various schools for additional information.

| ACADEMIC YEAR 2017-18 | SUMMER 2017 | FALL 2017 | SPRING 2018 |

SUMMER 2017
Monday, February 20 Registration begins for all Summer sessions  
Wednesday, May 17 Term I classes begin. The Monday class meeting schedule is in effect on this day. (Therefore, all summer classes meet this day.) Regular class meeting schedule begins on Thursday, May 18; Drop/Add continues  
Thursday, May 18 Regular class meeting schedule begins  
Friday, May 19 Drop/Add for Term I ends  
Monday, May 29 Memorial Day holiday. No classes are held.  
Wednesday, June 14 Last day to withdraw with W from Term I classes (Undergraduates)  
Monday, June 26 Term I classes end  
Tuesday, June 27 Reading period  
Wednesday, June 28 Term I final examinations begin  
Thursday, June 29 Term I final examinations end  
Monday, July 3 Term II classes begin  
Tuesday, July 4 Independence Day holiday. No classes are held.  
Thursday, July 6 Drop/Add for Term II ends  
Monday, July 31 Last day to withdraw with W from Term II classes (Undergraduates)  
Thursday, August 10 Term II classes end  
Friday, August 11 Reading period (Until 7:00 PM)  
Friday, August 11 Term II final examinations begin, 7:00 PM  
Sunday, August 13 Term II final examinations end  
 
FALL 2017
Tuesday, August 22 New graduate student orientation begins  
Tuesday, August 22 New undergraduate student orientation begins  
Wednesday, August 23 11:00 AM. Convocation for new undergraduate students; 4:00 PM. Convocation for graduate and professional school students  
Monday, August 28 8:30 AM. Fall semester classes begin; Drop/Add continues  
Monday, September 4 Labor Day. Classes in session  
Friday, September 8 Drop/Add ends  
Thursday or Friday, October 5 or 6 5:30 PM. Founders' Day Convocation  
Friday, October 6 Last day for reporting midsemester grades  
Friday, October 6 7:00 PM. Fall break begins  
Sunday, October 8 Founders' Day  
Wednesday, October 11 8:30 AM. Classes resume  
Monday, October 23 Bookbagging begins for Spring 2018  
Wednesday, November 1 Registration begins for Spring 2018  
Friday, November 10 Last day to withdraw with W from Fall 2017 classes (Undergraduates Only)  
Wednesday, November 15 Registration ends for Spring 2018  
Thursday, November 16 Drop/Add begins for Spring 2018  
Tuesday, November 21 10:30 PM. Thanksgiving recess begins  
Monday, November 27 8:30 AM. Classes resume  
Friday, December 1 Graduate classes end  
Saturday - Tuesday, December 2 - 12 Graduate reading period  
Friday, December 8 Undergraduate classes end  
Saturday - Tuesday, December 9 - 12 Undergraduate reading period  
Wednesday, December 13 Final examinations begin (9:00 AM.)  
Monday, December 18 10:00 PM. Final examinations end  
 
SPRING 2018
Sunday - Tuesday, January 7 - 9 Undergraduate Winter Forum  
Wednesday, January 10 8:30 AM. Spring semester begins: The Monday class meeting schedule is in effect on this day; Regular class meeting schedule begins on Thursday, January 11; Classes meeting in a Wednesday/Friday meeting pattern begin January 12; Drop/Add continues  
Thursday, January 11 Regular class meeting schedule begins  
Monday, January 15 Martin Luther King, Jr. Day holiday: classes are rescheduled on Wednesday, January 10  
Wednesday, January 24 Drop/Add ends  
Monday, February 19 Registration begins for Summer 2018  
Friday, February 23 Last day for reporting midsemester grades  
Friday, March 9 7:00 PM. Spring recess begins  
Monday, March 19 8:30 AM. Classes resume  
Monday, March 26 Bookbagging begins for Fall 2018  
Wednesday, March 28 Last day to withdraw with W from Spring 2018 classes (Undergraduates Only)  
Wednesday, April 4 Registration begins for Fall 2018; Summer 2018 registration continues  
Friday, April 13 Registration ends for Fall 2018; Summer 2018 registration continues  
Saturday, April 14 Drop/Add begins for Fall 2018  
Wednesday, April 18 Graduate classes end  
Thursday - Sunday, April 19 - 29 Graduate reading period  
Wednesday, April 25 Undergraduate classes end  
Thursday - Sunday, April 26 - 29 Undergraduate reading period  
Monday, April 30 Final examinations begin  
Saturday, May 5 10:00 PM. Final examinations end  
Friday, May 11 Commencement begins  
Sunday, May 13 Graduation exercises; conferring of degrees  

Approved April 7, 2016
University Schedule Committee
Duke University, Durham, North Carolina 27708

Questions or comments? Send email to: registrar@duke.edu