Fall 2018 Academic Calendar

Applicable to:  Trinity College of Arts & Sciences; The Pratt School of Engineering; The Nicholas School of the Environment; The Graduate School; The Sanford School of Public Policy; The School of Nursing
Consult the calendars of the various schools for additional information.
| ACADEMIC YEAR 2018-19 | SUMMER 2018 | FALL 2018 | SPRING 2019 | SUMMER 2019 |
Fall 2018
Tuesday, August 21 New Graduate Student orientation begins
Tuesday, August 21 New undergraduate student orientation begins
Wednesday, August 22

11:00 AM. Convocation for new undergraduate students

4:00 PM. Convocation for new graduate and professional school students

Monday, August 27 8:30 AM. Fall semester classes begin; Drop/Add continues
Monday, September 3 Labor Day. Classes in session
Friday, September 7 Drop/Add ends
Thursday or Friday, September 27 or 28 5:30 PM. Founders' Day Convocation
Sunday, September 30 Founders' Day
Friday, October 5 Last day for reporting midsemester grades
Friday, October 5 7:30 PM. Fall break begins
Wednesday, October 10 8:30 AM. Classes resume
Monday, October 22 Bookbagging begins for Spring 2019
Wednesday, October 31 Registration begins for Spring 2019
Friday, November 9 Last day to withdraw with W from Fall 2018 classes (undergraduates only)
Monday, November 12 Registration ends for Spring 2019
Tuesday, November 13 Drop/Add begins for Spring 2019
Tuesday, November 20 10:30 PM. Thanksgiving recess begins
Monday, November 26 8:30 AM. Classes resume
Friday, November 30 Graduate classes end
Wednesday-Tuesday, December 1-11 Graduate reading period
Friday, December 7 Undergraduate classes end
Saturday-Tuesday, December 8-11 Undergraduate reading period
Wednesday, December 12 Final examinations begin 9:00 AM
Monday, December 17 Final examinations end 10:00 PM

Approved March 25, 2017
University Schedule Committee
Duke University, Durham, North Carolina 27708

Questions or comments? Send email to: registrar@duke.edu