Spring 2020 Academic Calendar

Applicable to:  Trinity College of Arts & Sciences; The Pratt School of Engineering; The Nicholas School of the Environment; The Graduate School; The Sanford School of Public Policy; The School of Nursing
Consult the calendars of the various schools for additional information.
| ACADEMIC YEAR 2019-20 | SUMMER 2019 | FALL 2019 | SPRING 2020 | SUMMER 2020 |
Spring 2020
Wednesday, January 8

8:30 AM. Spring semester begins: The Monday class meeting schedule is in effect on this day. Regular class meeting schedule begins on Thursday, January 9; Classes meeting in a Wednesday/Friday meeting pattern begin January 10

Drop/Add continues

Thursday, January 9 Regular class meeting schedule begins
Monday, January 20 Martin Luther King, Jr. Day holiday. No classes are held.
Wednesday, January 22 Drop/Add ends
Monday, February 17 Registration begins for Summer 2020
Friday, February 21 Last day for reporting midsemester grades
Friday, March 6 7:00 PM. Spring recess begins
Monday, March 16 Extended Spring recess (COVID-19)
Monday, March 23 8:30 AM. Classes resume; bookbagging begins for Fall 2020
Wednesday, April 1 (changed from 3/25/20 on 3/19/20) Last day to withdraw with W from Spring 2020 classes (undergraduates only)
Wednesday, April 1 Registration begins for Fall 2020; Summer 2020 registration continues
Thursday, April 9 Registration ends for Fall 2020; Summer 2020 registration continues
Friday, April 10 Drop/Add begins for Fall 2020
Wednesday, April 15 Graduate classes end
Thursday-Sunday, April 16-26 Graduate reading period
Wednesday, April 22 Undergraduate classes end
Thursday-Sunday, April 23-26 Undergraduate reading period
Monday, April 27 9:00 AM. Final examinations begin
Saturday, May 2 10:00 PM. Final examinations end
Postponed Commencement begins
Postponed Graduation exercises
Sunday, May 10 Conferring of degrees

Approved March 21, 2018
University Schedule Committee
Duke University, Durham, North Carolina 27708

Questions or comments? Send email to: registrar@duke.edu