Future Academic Calendar

2019-2020 Academic Calendar

Applicable to:  Trinity College of Arts & Sciences; The Pratt School of Engineering; The Nicholas School of the Environment; The Graduate School; The Sanford School of Public Policy; The School of Nursing
Consult the calendars of the various schools for additional information.
| ACADEMIC YEAR 2019-20 | SUMMER 2019 | FALL 2019 | SPRING 2020 | SUMMER 2020 |
Summer 2019
Monday, February 18 Registration begins for all Summer sessions
Wednesday, May 15

Term I classes begin. The Monday class meeting schedule is in effect on this day. (Therefore, all summer classes meet this day.)Regular class meeting schedule begins on Thursday, May 16

Drop/Add continues.

Thursday, May 16 Regular class meeting schedule begins
Friday, May 17 Drop/Add for Term I ends
Monday, May 27 Memorial Day holiday. No classes are held.
Wednesday, June 12 Last day to withdraw with W from Term I classes (undergraduates)
Monday, June 24 Term I classes end
Tuesday, June 25 Reading period
Wednesday, June 26 Term I final examinations begin
Thursday, June 27 Term I final examinations end
Monday, July 1 Term II classes begin
Wednesday, July 3 Drop/Add for Term II ends
Thursday, July 4 Independence Day holiday. No classes are held.
Monday, July 29 Last day to withdraw with W from Term II classes (undergraduates)
Thursday, August 8 Term II classes end
Friday, August 9 Reading period (until 7:00 PM)
Friday, August 9 Term II final examinations begin 7:00 PM
Sunday, August 11 Term II final examinations end 10:00 PM
Fall 2019
Tuesday, August 20 New Graduate Student orientation begins
Tuesday, August 20 New undergraduate student orientation begins
Wednesday, August 21

11:00 AM. Convocation for new undergraduate students

4:00 PM. Convocation for new graduate and professional school students

Monday, August 26 8:30 AM. Fall semester classes begin; Drop/Add continues
Monday, September 2 Labor Day. Classes in session
Friday, September 6 Drop/Add ends
Thursday or Friday, September 26 or 27 5:30 PM. Founders' Day Convocation
Sunday, September 29 Founders' Day
Friday, October 4 Last day for reporting midsemester grades
Friday, October 4 7:30 PM. Fall break begins
Wednesday, October 9 8:30 AM. Classes resume
Monday, October 22 Bookbagging begins for Spring 2020
Wednesday, October 30 Registration begins for Spring 2020
Friday, November 8 Last day to withdraw with W from Fall 2019 classes (undergraduates only)
Wednesday, November 13 Registration ends for Spring 2020
Thursday, November 14 Drop/Add begins for Spring 2020
Tuesday, November 26

10:30 PM. Thanksgiving recess begins

Graduate classes end

Wednesday-Tuesday, November 27-December 10 Graduate reading period
Monday, December 2 8:30 AM. Classes resume
Friday, December 6 Undergraduate classes end
Saturday-Tuesday, December 7-10 Undergraduate reading period
Wednesday, December 11 Final examinations begin 9:00 AM
Monday, December 16 Final examinations end 10:00 PM
Spring 2020
Sunday-Tuesday, January 5-7 Undergraduate Winter Forum
Wednesday, January 8

8:30 AM. Spring semester begins: The Monday class meeting schedule is in effect on this day. Regular class meeting schedule begins on Thursday, January 9; Classes meeting in a Wednesday/Friday meeting pattern begin January 10

Drop/Add continues

Thursday, January 9 Regular class meeting schedule begins
Monday, January 20 Martin Luther King, Jr. Day holiday. No classes are held.
Wednesday, January 22 Drop/Add ends
Monday, February 17 Registration begins for Summer 2020
Friday, February 21 Last day for reporting midsemester grades
Friday, March 6 7:00 PM. Spring recess begins
Monday, March 16 8:30 AM. Classes resume
Wednesday, March 25 Last day to withdraw with W from Spring 2020 classes (undergraduates only)
Monday, March 30 Bookbagging begins for Fall 2020
Wednesday, April 1 Registration begins for Fall 2020; Summer 2020 registration continues
Friday, April 10 Registration ends for Fall 2020; Summer 2020 registration continues
Saturday, April 11 Dorp/Add begins for Fall 2020
Wednesday, April 15 Graduate classes end
Thursday-Sunday, April 16-26 Graduate reading period
Wednesday, April 22 Undergraduate classes end
Thursday-Sunday, April 23-26 Undergraduate reading period
Monday, April 27 9:00 AM. Final examinations begin
Saturday, May 2 10:00 PM. Final examinations end
Friday, May 8 Commencement begins
Sunday, May 10 Graduation exercises; conferring of degrees
Summer 2020
Monday, February 17 Registration begins for all Summer sessions
Wednesday, May 13

Term I classes begin. The Monday class meeting schedule is in effect on this day. (Therefore, all summer classes meet this day.) Regular class meeting schedule begins on Thursday, May 14

Drop/Add continues

Thursday, May 14 Regular class meeting schedule begins
Friday, May 15 Drop/Add for Term I ends
Monday, May 25 Memorial Day holiday. No classes are held.
Wednesday, June 10 Last day to withdraw with W from Term I classes (undergraduates only)
Monday, June 22 Term I classes end
Tuesday, June 23 Reading period
Wednesday, June 24 Term I final examinations begin
Thursday, June 25 Term I final examinations end
Monday, June 29 Term II classes begin
Wednesday, July 1 Drop/Add for Term II ends
Saturday, July 4 Independence Day holiday
Monday, July 27 Last day to withdraw with W from Term II classes (undergraduates only)
Thursday, August 6 Term II classes end
Friday, August 7 Reading period (until 7:00 PM)
Friday, August 7 7:00 PM. Term II final examinations begin
Sunday, August 9 10:00 PM. Term II final examinations end

Approved March 21, 2018
University Schedule Committee
Duke University, Durham, North Carolina 27708

Questions or comments? Send email to: registrar@duke.edu