Processing Calendars

The calendars below provide key dates for business processing within the Office of the University Registrar.

May 2018

05/16/18 - Wednesday
Summer Session Term I classes begin.  The Monday class schedule in is effect on this day.  (Therefore, all summer classes meet this day.)  Regular class meeting schedule begins on Thursday, May 17; drop/add continues

05/17/18 - Thursday
Regular class meeting schedule begins

05/18/18 - Friday
NSC Summer 2018 First of Term submission
Gleason

05/18/18 - Friday
NSC Spring 2018 Graduates only submission
Gleason

05/18/18 - Friday
11:59 PM - Drop/Add for Summer Term I ends (waiting lists not purged)

05/28/18 - Monday
Memorial Day; no classes (office closed)

05/29/18 - Tuesday
Spring 2018 Class rank percentiles for Trinity and Pratt students posted to OUR website
Burig

05/29/18 - Tuesday
Dean's List cut-offs posted to OUR website
Nelson

June 2018

06/04/18 - Monday
First-Year bookbagging window opens

06/12/18 - Tuesday
Grade rosters created for Summer Term I

06/13/18 - Wednesday
Last day to withdraw W from Term I classes

06/24/18 - Sunday
Fall 2016 Bursar bills generated

06/25/18 - Monday
Term I classes end

06/26/18 - Tuesday
Reading period

06/27/18 - Wednesday
Term I final exams begin

06/28/18 - Thursday
Term I final exams end

July 2018

07/02/18 - Monday
Term II classes begin

07/04/18 - Wednesday
Independence Day Holiday.  No classes and offices closed.

07/05/18 - Thursday
11:59 PM - Drop/Add for Term II ends (waiting lists not purged)

07/10/18 - Tuesday
Noon - First-Year registration for Fall 2018 (window 1); drop/add ends at 5:00 PM on Friday, July 20

07/12/18 - Thursday
Noon - First-Year registration for Fall 2018 (window 2); drop/add ends at 5:00 PM on Friday, July 20

07/20/18 - Friday
Drop/Add ends for Fall 2018 for First-Year students

07/30/18 - Monday
Last day to withdraw W from Term II classes

August 2018

08/09/18 - Thursday
Term II classes end

08/09/18 - Thursday
NSC Summer 2018 Subsequent of Term submission (all branches)
Gleason

08/10/18 - Friday
Reading Day until 7:00 PM

08/10/18 - Friday
7:00 PM - Term II final exams begin

08/12/18 - Sunday
Term II final exams end

08/20/18 - Monday
Run Summer 2018 Terms I and II progress reports
Nelson

August 2018

08/21/18 - Tuesday
First-Year undergraduate student orientation begins

08/21/18 - Tuesday
New graduate student orientation begins

08/22/18 - Wednesday
11:00 a.m.  Convocation for new undergraduate students; 4:00 p.m. Convocation for new graduate and professional school students

08/22/18 - Wednesday
2:00 p.m.  First-year undergraduate students begin meeting with advisors and begin drop/add activity in DukeHub

08/27/18 - Monday
8:30 AM.  Fall 2018 classes begin; Drop/Add continues - DIV, EGRP, GRAD, NSOE, NURS/NBSN, PPS, UGRD

08/27/18 - Monday
Send FERPA annual notification
Blalark

08/29/18 - Wednesday
National Student Clearinghouse (NSC) - Early registration enrollment file submission
Gleason

08/31/18 - Friday
11:59 PM.  Fall 2018 waiting lists end (DIV, PPS, UGRD) and are purged the following day.  No purge for GRAD, EGRP, NURS, NBSN, and NSOE.
Bonifer

08/31/18 - Friday
First round schedule submissions due, submitted via the DSV
Rostami

08/31/18 - Friday
All course requests due to Courses Committee for consideration for Spring 2019 (heavy course catalog request processing time - date set by Courses Committee)
Rostami

September 2018

09/03/18 - Monday
Second Week of Classes

09/03/18 - Monday
Labor Day.  Classes in session (office closed)

09/07/18 - Friday
11:59 PM.  Drop/Add ends - DIV, EGRP, GRAD, NBSN, NSOE, NURS, PPS, and UGRD

09/07/18 - Friday
NSC Summer 2018 DegreeVerify and Graduates Only Files
Gleason

09/10/18 - Monday
Third Week of Classes

09/10/18 - Monday
Correction week begins (UGRD)

09/14/18 - Friday
NSC First-of-term file submission
Gleason

09/14/18 - Friday
Correction week ends

09/17/18 - Monday
Fourth Week of Classes

09/24/18 - Monday
Fifth Week of Classes

09/24/18 - Monday
Schedule of Classes, Course Synopsis, and Textbook entry becomes available to departments for Spring 2019

09/27/18 - Thursday
Immunization compliance deadline expires; letters go out to notify students, faculty and schools of non-compliance
Gleason/Burig

09/27/18 or 09/28/18 - Thursday or Friday
5:30 p.m.  Founders' Day Convocation

09/28/18 - Friday
Student deadline for submitting Spring/Summer 2018 work for I and X grades

09/30/18 - Sunday
Founders' Day

October 2018

10/01/18 - Monday
Sixth Week of Classes

10/03/18 - Wednesday
Noon.  Second round class schedule submissions due via the DSV
Rostami

10/05/18 - Friday
Faculty deadline for summitting I and X grade changes for Spring /Summer 2018

10/05/18 - Friday
Last day for reporting midsemester grades

10/05/18 - Friday
7:00 p.m.  Fall break begins

10/10/18 - Wednesday
Seventh Week of Classes

10/10/18 - Wednesday
8:30 AM Classes resume

10/12/18 - Friday
NSC Subsequent-of-term file submission
Gleason

10/17/18 - Wednesday
Eighth Week of Classes

10/19/18 - Friday
Family Weekend begins

10/22/18 - Monday
Book Bags open for Spring 2019

10/22/18 - Monday
Major advising begins for Spring 2019

10/22/18 - Monday
No major or second major changes processed 10/22/18 through 11/15/18 due to registration activities

10/24/18 - Wednesday
Ninth Week of Classes

10/31/18 - Wednesday
Tenth Week of Classes

10/31/18 - Wednesday
Registration begins for Spring 2019; graduate and professional school students

November 2018

11/01/18 - Thursday
Registration begins for Seniors

11/02/18 - Friday
First registration window opens for Juniors

11/06/18 - Tuesday
First registration window opens for Sophomores

11/07/18 - Wednesday
Eleventh Week of Classes

11/09/18 - Friday
First registration window opens for First-Year students

11/09/18 - Friday
Last day of advising period

11/09/18 - Friday
Last day to withdraw with W from Fall 2018

11/09/18 - Friday
Last day to change from Satisfactory/Unsatisfactory grading basis to Graded

11/09/18 - Friday
NSC Subsequent-of-term file submission
Gleason

11/12/18 - Monday
Final day of Spring 2019 registration windows

11/13/18 - Tuesday
Drop/Add begins for Spring 2019

11/13/18 - Tuesday
Renew processing of major/second major changes

11/14/18 - Wednesday
Twelth Week of Classes

11/16/18 - Friday
Deadline for submission of Fall 2018 undergraduate Exam Relief Petitions (3 weeks prior to the last day of classes)
Burig

11/19/18 - Monday
Grade rosters for Fall 2018 created and available for use
Nelson

11/20/18 - Tuesday
10:30 p.m.  Thanksgiving recess begins

11/22/18 - Thursday
Thanksgiving Holiday (office closed)

11/23/18 - Friday
Thanksgiving Holiday (office closed)

11/26/18 - Monday
Thirteenth Week of Classes

11/26/18 - Monday
8:30 a.m.  Classes resume

11/29/18 - Thursday
Spring 2019 Late registration fee begins

11/30/18 - Friday
Graduate classes end

December 2018

12/01/18 - Saturday
Graduate reading period begins (ends Dec. 11)

12/03/18 - Monday
Fourteenth Week of Classes

12/07/18 - Friday
Undergraduate classes end

12/08/18 - Saturday
Undergraduate reading period begins (ends Dec. 11)

12/12/18 - Wednesday
9:00 a.m.  Final examinations begin

12/12/18 - Wednesday
NSC End-of-term file submission
Gleason

12/17/18 - Monday
10:00 p.m. Final examinations end

12/24/18 - Monday
Christmas Holiday - University Holiday (office closed)

12/25/18 - Tuesday
Christmas Holiday - University Holiday (office closed)

12/27/18 - Thursday
Run Fall 2018 progress reports
Nelson

12/31/18 - Monday
New Year's Eve holiday (office closed)

Will be posted in early November 2018.