Fall 2020 Academic Calendar

Applicable to:  Trinity College of Arts & Sciences; The Pratt School of Engineering; The Nicholas School of the Environment; The Graduate School; The Sanford School of Public Policy; The School of Nursing
Consult the calendars of the various schools for additional information.
| ACADEMIC YEAR 2020-21 | SUMMER 2020 | FALL 2020 | SPRING 2021 | SUMMER 2021 |
Fall 2020
Tuesday, August 18 New Graduate Student orientation begins
Tuesday, August 18 New undergraduate student orientation begins
Wednesday, August 19

11:00 AM. Convocation for new undergraduate students

4:00 PM. Convocation for new graduate and professional school students

Monday, August 24 8:30 AM. Fall semester classes begin; Drop/Add continues
Friday, September 4 Drop/Add ends
Monday, September 7 Labor Day. Classes in session
Thursday or Friday, September 24 or 25 5:30 PM. Founders' Day Convocation (tentative)
Sunday, September 27 Founders' Day
Friday, October 2 Last day for reporting midsemester grades
Friday, October 2 7:30 PM. Fall break begins
Wednesday, October 7 8:30 AM. Classes resume
Monday, October 19 Bookbagging begins for Spring 2021
Wednesday, October 28 Registration begins for Spring 2021
Friday, November 6 Last day to withdraw with W from Fall 2020 classes (undergraduates only)
Monday, November 9 Registration ends for Spring 2021
Tuesday, November 10 Drop/Add begins for Spring 2021
Tuesday, November 24 10:30 PM. Thanksgiving recess begins; Graduate classes end
Wednesday, November 25 Thanksgiving break; Graduate reading period begins
Monday, November 30 8:30 AM. Classes resume
Friday, December 4 Undergraduate classes end
Saturday-Tuesday, December 5-8 Undergraduate reading period
Wednesday, December 9 9:00 AM. Final examinations begin
Monday, December 14 10:00 PM. Final examinations end

*Corrections are noted in bold.  Updated on 08/07/2019.

Approved March 7, 2019
University Schedule Committee
Duke University, Durham, North Carolina 27708

Questions or comments? Send email to: registrar@duke.edu