Fall 2023 Academic Calendar

Trinity College of Arts & Sciences; The Pratt School of Engineering; The Nicholas School of the Environment; The Graduate School; The Sanford School of Public Policy; The School of Nursing
Consult the calendars of the various schools for additional information.
| ACADEMIC YEAR 2023-24 | SUMMER 2023 | FALL 2023 | SPRING 2024 | SUMMER 2024 |
Fall 2023
Saturday, August 19 New undergraduate student orientation begins
Tuesday, August 22 New Graduate Student orientation begins
Wednesday, August 23 4:00 PM. Convocation for new graduate and professional school students
Sunday, August 27 3:00 PM. Convocation for new undergraduate students
Monday, August 28 8:30 AM. Fall semester classes begin; Drop/Add continues
Monday, September 4 Labor Day. Classes in session
Friday, September 8 Drop/Add ends
Thursday - Sunday, September 28 - October 1 Founders' Weekend
Sunday, October 1 Founders Day
Friday, October 6 Last day for reporting midsemester grades
Friday, October 6 7:00 PM. Fall break begins
Wednesday, October 11 8:30 AM. Classes resume
Monday, October 23 Shopping carts open for Spring 2024
Wednesday, November 1 Registration begins for Spring 2024
Friday, November 10 Last day to withdraw with W from Fall 2023 classes (undergraduates only)
Monday, November 13 Registration ends for Spring 2024
Tuesday, November 14 Drop/Add begins for Spring 2024
Tuesday, November 21 10:30 PM. Thanksgiving recess begins; Graduate classes 700 and above end
Wednesday - Tuesday, November 22 - December 5 Graduate reading period
Monday, November 27 8:30 AM. Classes resume
Friday, December 1 Undergraduate classes end; some Graduate 500-699 classes end
Saturday - Tuesday, December 2 - 5 Undergraduate reading period
Wednesday, December 6 Final examinations begin 9:00 AM
Monday, December 11 Final examinations end 10:00 PM

Approved April 21, 2022
University Schedule Committee
Duke University, Durham, North Carolina 27708

Questions or comments? Send email to: registrar@duke.edu