Summer 2021 Academic Calendar

Applicable to:  Trinity College of Arts & Sciences; The Pratt School of Engineering; The Nicholas School of the Environment; The Graduate School; The Sanford School of Public Policy; The School of Nursing
Consult the calendars of the various schools for additional information.
| ACADEMIC YEAR 2021-22 | SUMMER 2021 | FALL 2021 | SPRING 2022 | SUMMER 2022 |
Summer 2021
Monday, March 1 Registration begins for all Summer sessions
Wednesday, May 12 Term I classes begin. The Monday class meeting schedule is in effect on this day. (Therefore, all summer classes meet this day.) Regular class meeting schedule begins on Thursday, May 13; Drop/Add continues
Thursday, May 13 Regular class meeting schedule begins
Friday, May 14 Drop/Add for Term I ends
Monday, May 31 Memorial Day holiday. No classes are held.
Wednesday, June 9 Last day to withdraw with W from Term I classes (undergraduates only)
Monday, June 21 Term I classes end
Tuesday, June 22 Reading period
Wednesday, June 23 Term I final examinations begin
Thursday, June 24 Term I final examinations end
Monday, June 28 Term II classes begin
Monday, June 28 Shopping carts open for Fall 2021
Wednesday, June 30 Drop/Add for Term II ends
Monday, July 5 Independence Day holiday observed. No classes are held.
Wednesday, July 7 Registration begins for Fall 2021
Monday, July 19 Registration ends for Fall 2021
Tuesday, July 20 Drop/Add begins for Fall 2021
Monday, July 26 Last day to withdraw with W from Term II classes (undergraduates only)
Thursday, August 5 Term II classes end
Friday, August 6 Reading period (until 7:00 PM)
Friday, August 6 Term II final examinations begin (7:00 PM)
Sunday, August 8 Term II final examinations end (10:00 PM

Approved March 7, 2019. REVISED January 13, 2021 and January 25, 2021.
University Schedule Committee
Duke University, Durham, North Carolina 27708

Questions or comments? Send email to: registrar@duke.edu