2023-2024 Academic Calendar

Trinity College of Arts & Sciences; The Pratt School of Engineering; The Nicholas School of the Environment; The Graduate School; The Sanford School of Public Policy; The School of Nursing
Consult the calendars of the various schools for additional information.
| ACADEMIC YEAR 2023-24 | SUMMER 2023 | FALL 2023 | SPRING 2024 | SUMMER 2024 |
Summer 2023
Monday, February 20 Registration begins for all Summer sessions
Wednesday, May 17

Term 1 classes begin. The Monday class meeting schedule is in effect on this day. (Therefore, all summer classes meet this day.) Regular class meeting schedule begins on Thursday, May 18

Drop/Add continues

Thursday, May 18 Regular class meeting schedule begins
Friday, May 19 Drop/Add for Term 1 ends
Monday, May 29 Memorial Day holiday. No classes are held.
Wednesday, June 14 Last day to withdraw with W from Term 1 classes (undergraduates only)
Monday, June 19 Juneteenth holiday. No classes are held.
Monday, June 26 Term 1 classes end.
Tuesday, June 27 Reading period
Wednesday, June 28 Term 1 final examinations begin
Thursday, June 29 Term 1 final examinations end
Monday, July 3 Term 2 classes begin
Tuesday, July 4 Independence Day holiday observed. No classes are held
Thursday, July 6 Drop/Add for Term 2 ends
Monday, July 31 Last day to withdraw with W from Term 2 classes (undergraduates only)
Thursday, August 10 Term 2 classes end
Friday, August 11 Reading period
Saturday, August 12 Term 2 final examinations begin
Sunday, August 13 Term 2 final examinations end
Fall 2023
Saturday, August 19 New undergraduate student orientation begins
Tuesday, August 22 New Graduate Student orientation begins
Wednesday, August 23 11:00 AM. Convocation for new undergraduate students
Sunday, August 27 4:00 PM. Convocation for new graduate and professional school students
Monday, August 28 8:30 AM. Fall semester classes begin; Drop/Add continues
Monday, September 4 Labor Day. No classes are held
Friday, September 8 Drop/Add ends
Thursday - Sunday, September 28 - October 1 Founders' Weekend
Sunday, October 1 Founders' Day
Friday, October 13 Last day for reporting midsemester grades
Friday, October 13 7:00 PM. Fall break begins
Wednesday, October 18 8:30 AM. Classes resume
Tuesday, October 24 Shopping carts open for Spring 2024
Wednesday, November 1 Registration begins for Spring 2024
Friday, November 10 Last day to withdraw with W from Fall 2023 classes (undergraduates only)
Monday, November 13 Registration ends for Spring 2024
Tuesday, November 14 Drop/Add begins for Spring 2024
Tuesday, November 21 10:30 PM. Thanksgiving recess begins
Monday, November 27 8:30 AM. Classes resume
Friday, December 1 Graduate classes 700 and above end
Saturday - Wednesday, December 2 - December 13 Graduate reading period
Friday, December 8 Undergraduate classes end; some Graduate 500-699 classes end
Saturday - Tuesday, December 9 - 12 Undergraduate reading period
Wednesday, December 13 Final examinations begin 9:00 AM
Monday, December 18 Final examinations end 10:00 PM
Spring 2024
Wednesday, January 10

8:30 AM. Spring semester begins: The Monday class meeting schedule is in effect on this day. Regular class meeting schedule begins on Thursday, January 11; Classes meeting in a Wednesday/Friday meeting pattern begin January 12; Drop/Add continues

Thursday, January 11 Regular class meeting schedule begins
Monday, January 15 Martin Luther King, Jr. Day holiday. No classes are held.
Wednesday, January 24 Drop/Add ends
Monday, February 19 Registration begins for Summer 2024
Friday, February 23 Last day for reporting midsemester grades
Friday, March 8 7:00 PM. Spring recess begins
Monday, March 18 8:30 AM. Classes resume
Monday, March 25 Shopping carts open for Fall 2024
Wednesday, March 27 Last day to withdraw with W from Spring 2024 classes (undergraduates only)
Wednesday, April 3 Registration begins for Fall 2024; Summer 2024 registration continues
Thursday, April 11 Registration ends for Fall 2024; Summer 2024 registration continues
Friday, April 12 Drop/Add begins for Fall 2024
Wednesday, April 17 Graduate classes end

Thursday - Sunday, April 18 - 28

Graduate reading period
Wednesday, April 24 Undergraduate classes end
Thursday - Sunday, April 25 - 28 Undergraduate reading period
Monday, April 29 9:00 AM. Final examinations begin
Saturday, May 4 10:00 PM. Final examinations end
Friday, May 10 Commencement begins
Sunday, May 12 Graduation exercises; conferring of degrees
Summer 2024
Monday, February 19 Registration begins for all Summer sessions
Wednesday, May 15

Term 1 classes begin. The Monday class meeting schedule is in effect on this day. (Therefore, all summer classes meet this day.) Regular class meeting schedule begins on Thursday, May 16

Drop/Add continues

Thursday, May 16 Regular class meeting schedule begins
Friday, May 17 Drop/Add for Term 1 ends
Monday, May 27 Memorial Day holiday. No classes are held.
Wednesday, June 12 Last day to withdraw with W from Term 1 classes (undergraduates only)
Wednesday, June 19 Juneteenth holiday. No classes are held.
Monday, June 24 Term 1 classes end
Tuesday, June 25 Reading period
Wednesday, June 26 Term 1 final examinations begin
Thursday, June 27 Term 1 final examinations end
Monday, July 1 Term 2 classes begin
Wednesday, July 3 Drop/Add for Term 2 ends
Thursday, July 4 Independence Day holiday observed. No classes are held
Monday, July 29 Last day to withdraw with W from Term 2 classes (undergraduates only)
Thursday, August 8 Term 2 classes end
Friday, August 9 Reading period (until 7:00 PM)
Friday, August 9 7:00 PM. Term 2 final examinations begin
Sunday, August 11 10:00 PM. Term 2 final examinations end

Approved April 21, 2022.
University Schedule Committee
Duke University, Durham, North Carolina 27708

Questions or comments? Send email to: registrar@duke.edu